Marathon Training Week 5 Recap/Camping at Assateague

It’s hard to believe I’ve been at this for five weeks already. Time is flying by! October 26 is going to be here before I know it.

Again, this recap is sort of all over the place. I think that’s going to be a theme for these posts for the next several weeks.

First, a recap of last week’s running.

Monday: Rest day.

Tuesday: Three miles. Joe ran the whole three miles this time with me, which was nice. I have a foggy memory of telling him at some point during this run that I can’t imagine doing marathon training every year. Getting up so early and slugging through the summer weather just isn’t pleasant, even when your body gets more acclimated to the heat and humidity. I don’t know how people run one or more marathons every year.

Wednesday: Five miles. This is the longest distance I’ve ever done before work. I felt strong during this run and enjoyed the morning scenery.

Thursday: Three miles. I’m sad to say this is the first run of my marathon training I’ve missed. When I woke up Thursday morning, it appeared to be drizzling and my weather app predicted thunderstorms. So I decided to put the run off until the afternoon. Those thunderstorms never came and even though Thursday afternoon was perfectly pleasant for running, I decided to move the run to Friday morning. I’ve definitely become a morning runner. By the afternoon, I just don’t feel like doing it, especially because it means pushing through rush hour crowds on the sidewalks. Friday I forgot to switch my alarm back to 5 and ended up waking up around 5:40, too late to get my run in before getting ready for work. I cursed myself too because Friday morning was a gorgeous morning for a run.

Friday: Rest day. And we left for Assateague! Our camping spot was one of the nicest in the park and we had a little picnic (with the mosquitoes) on our own private beach.

Assateague4

Checking out the view from our campsite

Assateague5

Our private beach!

Assateague3

Dinner on the beach before the sunset

Assateague2

Sunset the first night

Saturday: Ten miles. I was sort of dreading this. Running 10 miles while camping didn’t sound like a lot of fun. But we got up early and hit the road. Joe followed on his bike, which was nice because it meant he could carry water and Gatorade for me. I ran the entire length of the national park and back. I had to stop a couple of times so I didn’t scare the horses but otherwise this run felt like smooth sailing. I’m still running very slow but that’s okay by me.

Joe's bike selfie with me running in the background.

Joe’s bike selfie with me running in the background.

Stopping so I don't scare the horses.

Stopping so I don’t scare the horses.

One of the paved paths in the park has quarter mile markers. For whatever reason, that made a HUGE difference mentally. It allowed me to just focus on the quarter mile I was on. So rather than thinking, “I need to run three more miles,” I could just focus on getting to the next marker. I ran to the visitor’s center, took a quick water/fuel break, and cranked out the last three, finishing right by the national park sign. Then I still had another mile to get back to our campsite so I walked while Joe biked ahead to prepare breakfast.

Conquering the big bridge near the visitor's center.

Conquering the big bridge near the visitor’s center.

FINISHED!!!

FINISHED!!!

I felt so good right after getting the run done. I had encountered a couple of other runners who I passed twice (since it was an out and back path). I exchanged a “great job!” with one of them the second time I saw her, and the other I saw the second time while walking back to my site. He asked how my run went and I did the same. It gave me the warm fuzzies.

A little while after the run though, I didn’t feel so hot. First my stomach was a little unhappy and then I got a headache I couldn’t shake. I’m sure it had to do with being a little dehydrated and spending a lot of time in the sun while running and lounging on the beach. We eventually went out of the park to get some Tylenol, which did the trick with some water and a nap.

Assateague was amazing and it’s the only place I really LOVE to camp. We saw horses, rabbits, blue crabs, horseshoe crabs, fish and a wide variety of birds. The weather was amazing (minus a brief downpour on Saturday) and the scenery was stunning.

Sunday: Cross training. I’m just going to say that I did at least an hour of walking that day when we checked out of camp and went to Ocean City for the morning. On our way home, we stopped in Easton to celebrate Joe’s birthday with Mom and Dad. They gave him a water/fuel belt for running and made us a big spread of hot dogs, hamburgers, corn, pickles, tomatoes and potato salad. It was a nice way to break up the drive back home.

Unfortunately the rest of the day was kind of nuts. At one point we were stopped in traffic because of a bad accident (someone had to be medevacked out). When we finally got home, we noticed one of our cats didn’t seem quite right. For a little more than a week, she’d been wary of us touching the side of her face. It seemed to be getting better before we went camping, but when she still showed signs of the problem on Sunday night, we decided we better take her in. To make a long story short, we took her to a 24-hour animal hospital, left her there at 10 p.m. so they could sedate her and run a test, then picked her up again around 1:30 a.m. I was up three quarters of the night keeping an eye on her and spent all Monday texting and calling Joe to see how she was doing. As of this morning, she seems to be doing okay so hopefully the pain was just from an abscess and not something more serious. Fingers crossed.

