Okay, This Time I Mean It: Marathon Training Week 1 Recap

I know I said a couple of weeks ago that I was starting marathon training. But then I did a little more research and found a training plan that I liked better and I knew had a good success rate. Plus, I’m excellent at procrastination, so why not push back my training start date a little further, right?

After talking to some folks who have run marathons before, I looked into the Hal Higdon Novice training program. There’s an iPhone app for it that goes for $10 so I downloaded that rather than buying a book. One of the features of this training program that I think is beneficial is that you run three days in a row. I don’t normally do that but part of the idea is to get your body used to running on tired legs.

I know these blogs won’t be particularly interesting to most, but it’s mainly a way for myself to document my training and keeping track of what works and doesn’t work for me.

So, week one.

Monday: Rest day. You have to love any training plan that starts with a rest day.

Tuesday: Three easy miles. Now that summer is in full swing, I’m getting up at 5 a.m. to get these runs in. I don’t love waking up early but as I’ve become more of a morning person. I find my body naturally wakes up in the 5 a.m. hour anyway. I was a little sleepy that morning since I’d been out late (for me, on a weeknight anyway) the night before hanging out with Megan and her boyfriend Mike (!!!) but Tuesday morning was so pleasant. The humidity was low so it was one of those “Running is fantastic!!!” kind of days.

Wednesday: Three easy miles. Uuugh, the humidity was back but I got it done.

Thursday: Another three easy miles. By this day, I was starting to drag. I know Thursdays are going to be tough when the distance starts to increase later in the training cycle. I was already tired of getting up at 5 and my body was starting to feel the effects of running, especially since it’s been almost two solid months since I was on any sort of regular training plan. Thankfully, at that time in the morning, my brain doesn’t have enough time to come up with an excuse to not run. So I just rolled out of bed and got it done.

Friday: Rest day. Woo.

Saturday: Six miles (or the “long” run). I didn’t feel like getting up early to beat the heat again so Joe and I agreed we’d head to the gym at Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling. So we went over around 8:30 a.m. and hopped on the treadmills. Joe had a small victory today. He managed to run a mile nonstop for the first time since he sprained his ankle. He also did a little alternating between running and walking for a total of about 3.6 miles. Hopefully he’s back to full speed again soon. I kept the treadmill at a relatively easy 10:10 pace to crank out the miles. I felt awesome cardio-wise but I was SOOOOOO bored. I hate running on the treadmill. It just feels like misery. I stopped to walk for a quarter mile when I hit five miles but then I cranked up the speed to pound out the last three quarters of mile. Whew. Workout done by 10 a.m.

Sunday: Cross-training. I don’t know what I’ll do yet but it’s supposed to be 60 minutes of aerobic activity. I’ll be at my parents’ place for a few days so I might walk on the treadmill and throw in some strength training. I want to give this workout a try.

Next on my to-do list:

1. Find a handheld water bottle I like for the longer runs.

2. Start throwing in some light yoga a couple of times a week to stretch out my muscles.

3. Get my nutrition right. I’ve been eating like a pig lately so I need to start focusing on eating the right things. So today I ordered this for some inspiration/motivation:

Cookbook

Week one is almost done. Just 17 more weeks to go!

 

 

