It Has Begun

As scary as it is to say, marathon training has officially begun. Technically it was supposed to start yesterday but it was too hot yesterday afternoon and I was grumpy. So I set my alarm to go off at 5:15 a.m. this morning.

MorningRun

But before I tell you about that, some exciting news. For the first time in about two weeks, I slept in my real bed! That may seem silly but after being on an air mattress for a while, it was daunting to try sleeping in my own bed again. My back is almost 100% now so I figured it was time. I crawled in and I could instantly feel the firmness of the mattress and thought it might be an issue…but it never was! I even managed to change it up and sleep on my side some. I swear, I will NEVER take a healthy back for granted again.

When my alarm went off this morning, I was tempted to just ignore it. But I was already awake, and what was an extra hour going to do? It would take me half that time just to fall asleep again anyway. So I crawled out of bed and put on my running clothes. Joe decided to follow me on his bike since he still can’t run. I stepped outside thinking it would at least feel cooler than yesterday afternoon. But. it. was. humid. I believe the word the weather lady used on the news was “oppressive.” It’s been a while since I’ve run in this kind of weather so I knew it would be a challenge. To make myself feel better, I kept thinking about how training in the humidity would make the marathon in the cool October weather a breeze.

It wasn’t an easy run. I’m out of shape because I haven’t been running much for the last month or so. The humidity got to me. I would occasionally question my sanity for getting up early to do something that felt kind of miserable. With all that said, I was happy. I was happy that my back didn’t bother me. I was happy to be out early again. I love how empty it is in the city at that time. I love the quiet, when all you can hear is your own breathing and your footsteps. I love seeing all the other people out on the Mall and feeling like I share a secret with them. I love that I don’t have to wait at traffic lights and can just keep going. I love the feeling of having the run done early and the energy it gives me for the rest of the day. Three sweaty miles later, I was on a bit of an endorphin high.

So here’s to the start of marathon training and early morning runs. I may not feel so peppy about these runs in a few weeks, but to quote Ice Cube, today was a good day.

 

