Happy National Running Day!

Today is a special day in a couple of ways. First, and most importantly, it’s Kiki’s birthday! Kiki has been my friend for more than 20 years. That’s so hard to imagine. Although she lives in New York now (booo), whenever we get together, it feels like nothing has changed. She’s an awesome person and one of the most courageous I know. I mean, who else goes and studies in France for a full year in HIGH SCHOOL? So happy birthday Kiki! I hope it’s a great day!

MeKiki

Me and Kiki

 

It also happens to be National Running Day. I’d feel like a big fraud if I didn’t get in at least a mile today so that’s what I’m going to do. My back still isn’t perfect. When I ran for the first time in a couple of weeks the other night, I felt it in my back with each step I took. I did a very slow 1.5 miles. But it didn’t kill me, and although my back felt a little more sore that night, it didn’t really set me back either. So after work, I’m going to hop on a treadmill and crank out at least a mile because I can. Because I will be very sad when the day comes that I can no longer do it. Because running has shown me that I’m stronger and more capable than I thought I was. Because it’s good for me. Because I love it. Happy National Running Day!

NationalRunningDay

 

