I’m Still Running

It’s been a long time since I update my blog about running. But I’m still out there every week. I’m currently in one of those phases where I’m absolutely in love with running. The runs have been feeling strong and it feels downright blissful when we get those days that hint of spring, like yesterday.

A few updates:

  • I’m currently training for both the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler and the Frederick Running Festival. For Frederick, I’m doing the Nut Job Challenge, which is a 5K on Saturday night and the half marathon on Sunday morning. Anything to get more shirts and medals! My current schedule calls for runs four times a week: an easy three-mile runs on Tuesday and Saturday, a tempo run on Thursday, and a long, slow run on Sunday.
  • I entered the lottery for the Marine Corps Marathon. It was very much something I did on a whim. I’d been toying with the idea of it since we went to spectate last October. I figure it’s not going to get any easier as I get older. And we live in D.C. so I might as well try it now. So I signed up quickly before I could regret it.
  • Today was my first race of 2014. It was the St. Patrick’s Day 8K, which is great for us since we live about half a mile from the start/finish line. My schedule also called for five miles today. so it was a perfect fit I was supposed to do them “slow” but I ended up getting an 8K PR instead. Even though Joe never registered for the race, he hopped into the race anyway. The weather was pretty nice for a race: mid-40s with some sun and a bit of a breeze. I felt really strong even though I had run Friday (since I bumped back my Thursday run) and Saturday. Since I was supposed to be running slow, I tried to just keep it at a comfortable pace but pushed myself at the end. I crossed the finish line in 45:39 (according to the official race time) for an average pace of 9:09. I got the last mile in at 8:21 too which was a bit of a shock. (Splits were 9:36, 9:15, 9:10, 9:07 and 8:21).
  • Next weekend we’re doing the Four Courts Four Miler. There’s supposed to be an awesome after party and there’s beer! I think I might bust out my “Will Run for Beer” socks for that one.
StPats8K

Joe and I after the St. Patrick’s Day 8K

 

