When You Were Young

Lately, I haven’t been able to get “When You Were Young” by The Killers out of my head. I think it has something to do with the dreams I’ve been having lately. They all focus on the past and people I used to know. And it’s sort of created a longing in me for those times. Very specifically the summer of 2006.

I think that summer was the best summer of my life. My friends and I had finally settled into a post-college routine. I was living in my first apartment (which was a pretty nice one at that) and spending a lot of time with my friends at happy hours or at the bars on Friday and Saturday nights. We did some great things together, like trips to Bonnaroo and Ocean City. I visited one of my best friends in Los Angeles. I met some new people, including whathisname that I now live with.

L.A. 2006. I wish I looked like that again. And I wish I had that drink right now.

L.A. 2006. I wish I looked like that again. And I wish I had that drink right now.

As I was thinking about these times, I went to look at some old photos. They made me sad in a couple of ways. One, we’re all older and don’t spend as much time together because of jobs, families, etc. And two, I want to look like I did when I was 22. I was thinner (by 20 pounds exactly), had longer hair and I was relatively tan. There was also something different in my eyes, something like excitement and pure happiness. When you’re that age, you have years ahead of you and that prospect is exciting, not daunting and scary the way it seems now. We never know where we’re going to end up in life and at 22, you feel like you still have a lot of choices. At 29, I’ve started to feel like the options have narrowed. Don’t get me wrong, I’m generally a happy person now. But if you asked my 22-year-old self if I thought I would be where I am now, I’d probably have said no.

Sadly, I can’t be 22 again. (Where is Michael J. Fox and that DeLorean???) I guess we all have to grow up sometime. But I can try to LOOK the way I did then. And I’m working on it.

Anyway, on to less serious things.

I’ve signed up for a couple more races: the Ridiculous Obtacle Challenge (which should be awesome to run with Joe, Laura and BJ) and the Run for the Parks 10K (to answer your question, yes, I am doing it for the jacket).

On a happy note, I ran my fastest three miles ever this morning! 25:50! I’ve been dying to get a time that starts with 25 and I finally broke it. And my last mile was 8:18 to boot. Woo!

What age would you want to be again?

