Things That Slow You Down

I love junk food. Potato chips, french fries, hamburgers, chocolate, beer. All that good stuff. I’ve been trying to eat less of it lately but sometimes you just get really bad cravings. So when I had a bad day at work a couple of days ago, I grabbed some beer. And what goes good with beer? Potato chips. (Sometimes I think I’m really a guy.)

Joe can’t really eat them right now so I basically ate the whole bag. In two days. That’s shameful. It makes me cringe to type that. On Wednesday and Thursday nights, I ruined a full day of healthy eating in about 30 minutes.

I put off my Thursday morning run to Friday because the forecast called for storms and because this morning was supposed to be a lot cooler. It was. In fact, it was perfect running weather. It was drizzling when we left our apartment. By the time we got to the Mall, it was raining a little harder. It stopped soon after that but the cool air and rain were refreshing. It should have been a perfect morning to run fast. Instead, I was kind of slow. I only did one mile in under nine minutes (although I’m telling myself I could have done two under nine if I hadn’t had to stop at one light for a while) and it took me just under 28 minutes. Just a couple of weeks ago, I was about a minute and a half faster than that.

RunMap

This is what my morning three-mile run map usually looks like. Unlike some days, my Garmin was good today. The other day it was acting crazy and the map said we ran through the IRS building.

I’ve read that you should log every run and take notes on how you feel. Thankfully, dailymile makes that easy. After my run, I tried to think what made me so much slower. The excessive junk food? Probably. Less sleep than I usually get before I run? Definitely. Note to self: drink tons of water, eat lean protein and veggies, and sleep at least 7.5 hours before a morning run.

So what did I do to punish myself for my junk food indulgences? I went to Truckeroo of course. Summer Fridays at work mean we get to leave at noon. So I met Mom and headed down to the Fairgrounds to try out some of the food trucks. Although I left work a little late (12:35 or so), I should have been to the Fairgrounds by 1. But thanks to the disaster that is Metro, we didn’t get there until 2. It took Mom about an hour and a half to go three stops. Metro FAIL.

Anyway, I had been thinking of trying out the lobster roll truck. For those who know me, this probably comes as a shock. But I tried a bite of Joe’s lobster a few weeks ago and I have to admit, I liked it. I’ve been thinking about a lobster roll ever since. But when I got there, I was instead called to the Mojo food truck. It was delicious. You pick your meat and a style (which dictates the toppings). So I went for a Steak Canadian. So it was steak, cheese, lettuce, tomato, ham, sauce and a fried egg. The whole thing was really good and I was stuffed. So much for giving up junk food. Mom ended up going to the BONMi truck and got a yummy sandwich as well.

IMG_0631

Mmmm Mojo

I kind of wanted a tasty treat to take home and I thought I wanted a woopie pie. I picked out something called a cow pie from Sinplicity, which looked like a woopie pie in the picture. It kinda looked more like something stuffed between macaroons (which I love) so I got it. I was a little surprised when I got the box and it was cold. Turns out there was ice cream between those macaroons. So instead of taking it home, Mom and I had to step up to the plate and finish it there. Life is tough that way sometimes.

For dinner I figured I better make something healthyish. We had a head of cauliflower in the fridge and I’ve been wanting to make this cauliflower “fried rice” recipe I found on Pinterest. It was pretty easy to make. The most annoying part was grating the cauliflower. I threw in some chicken to add some protein. I had my doubts but I. was. amazed. It tasted a lot like fried rice. We probably had too much chicken for the amount of cauliflower we had so a lot of the cauliflower just stuck to the chicken but it didn’t really matter. Even Joe seemed to like it a lot and he’s not usually a fan of recipes that “healthify” a popular dish. I’ll definitely be making this again.

IMG_0633

Cauliflower “fried rice”

I’m looking forward to the nice weather this weekend. Tomorrow should be a great day to get out. Thinking of heading to Great Falls (Maryland side of course).

What are your weekend plans?

