Race Addiction

Fast

I must remember this when I’m feeling slow.

Before I get into my obsession with races, a brief run recap. Tonight’s run SUCKED. It was three miles and my legs felt heavy, probably from my squats the night before (it had been a while since I did squats). I was slow. But I did it. And that’s what we have to remember. Sure, it’s frustrating to see someone twice your age smoke you, but at least you’re out there. That’s more than most can say.

Okay, now on to the regular program.

I think I mentioned in one of my other blogs that I have an addiction to signing up for races. I love the whole atmosphere at race day, especially because it’s a celebration of some cause. I love collecting the shirts/meda/whatever they give you even though I have no place to put them in our city-sized apartment. And I love crossing a finish line.

The second I finish a race, I’m ready to go home and look for new ones to do. I’ve told Joe several times he must take my credit card away so that I can’t just go through Active.com and sign up for anything that sounds fun.

Here’s a little bit about why I signed up for all these races.

 Race for Hope 5K (May 5): A good friend/co-worker asks me to run this race ever year. Her father and a friend’s father had brain tumors. Can you really say no to that?

Preakness 5K (May 11): The race benefits the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, an important cause to me. You get to run on the track at Pimlico Race Course the week before the Preakness. Your race bib looks like jockey silks. You get a horse name to “ride” to the finish, where there’s beer waiting. This is the definition of an awesome race.

Poplar Spring Run for the Animals 5K (May 19): This one happened kind of like this:

My friend Vanessa: “There’s this race I’m doing, it benefits animals…”

Me: “Done! Let’s save all the animals!”

I’m someone who has to change the channel when an ASPCA commercial comes on or I risk having an emotional breakdown. (You might have seen the story I wrote for work last year about an animal sanctuary.) So it wasn’t hard for her to convince me to do this one. Plus, part of the run is through Brookside Gardens which will make for nice scenery.

Run for the Dream 8K (June 1): I don’t usually travel for races and this one is down in Williamsburg so it makes for a nice weekend trip. My parents are coming down to cheer me on and it’s for a couple of great causes: Wounded Warriors and An Achievable Dream. And you get free tickets for Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg.

The Biggest Loser 10K (July 14): You want me to be honest about why I signed up for this? They give you a medal. I love medals. And I admittedly have a soft spot for The Biggest Loser. I used one of the show’s DVDs to work out when I initially lost a lot of weight. I love that Bob Harper.

Arlington Police/Fire/Sheriff 9/11 Memorial 5K (Sept. 7): Another great cause. I was supposed to do this race a couple of years ago but I was in Massachusetts with my grandmother when she was very, very sick. Joe ran the race without me and said it was a nice run around the Pentagon. And once again, there’s beer at the finish.

RunDisney Tower of Terror Ten Miler (Oct. 5): Do I really need to explain? It’s Disney and I LOVE all things Halloween so it’s right up my alley.

There are a few other races I’m considering later in the year. I MAY do the Army Ten Miler but I’m not sure I trust myself to train properly all summer for two ten milers in October. I want to do the Run for the Parks 10K in November but registration hasn’t opened yet. And I’m sure I’ll do a turkey trot of some kind, maybe the one sponsored by SOME.

I’m sure I’ll find a few more races here and there I want to run, but I have to admit, I’m excited for all of these races!

What race(s) are you most looking forward to this year?

