Race Season in D.C.

Image

Preparations for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon

One of my favorite things about living in D.C. is that on any given weekend, you can find a number of races going on in the D.C. area that benefit any number of causes. I know the spring race season began a while ago but it definitely seems to be in full swing now.

I went for a solo run this morning (the boyfriend was too busy eating leftover chicken wings for breakfast) to take advantage of the sunny weather and great running temperature (about 60 degrees). As I went south toward Freedom Plaza, I notice a bunch of tents going up for tomorrow’s Nike Women’s Half Marathon. I plan to go check it out if I can get out of bed at a decent hour to get to the route.

Image

Finish line at the Walk to End Lupus

Just around the block on Pennsylvania Avenue I noticed another setup for today’s Walk to End Lupus. There were purple balloons, signs and T-shirts everywhere. I kept running to my route down on the Mall but as I did my cool down walk afterwards on Pennsylvania, I walked on the sidewalk and took in the scene. I have a really good friend who has Lupus so it was great to see how many people had turned out for the walk. The line of people stretched far down close to the Capitol. I even blended in since I had put a purple shirt on for the day.

This is part of what I love about the city. You can find a walk/run for almost any cause you can imagine. In some ways it’s hard to think about all the different diseases and traumas that can affect the human condition. And to see how many people have personal experience with these diseases and traumas. But what I take away from these events is that it’s human nature to fight. I’ve seen cancer survivors run way faster than I could ever hope to. I’ve seen wounded warriors complete ten milers. That’s part of what I love about these events.

Next Sunday I’ll be doing the Race for Hope, running in honor of my friend’s father who died a few years ago from a brain tumor. Whenever you go to an event like that, you remind yourself that any discomfort you feel from running is nothing compared to what those who have battled the disease have gone through. It’s motivating and moving.

