A Week of Insanity

I’ve been doing the Insanity workout for about a week now and I have sort of mixed feelings about it.

First, I’m not really losing much weight. I got off a couple of pounds from the Christmas max I hit but that came off in about one day. Since then, my weight has been pretty stagnant. To be honest, one of the main reasons I’m probably not losing much more is because I’m still eating the candy/sugar leftover from Christmas. There was a lot! I’m trying to get rid of it all without inhaling it all at once (although sometimes I think that would be better). Once it’s gone, no more candy for a while. Why must there be so many holidays associated with food in a row? Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Valentine’s Day, Easter. Yikes! After this candy is gone, I’m not buying anymore for a while.  Throughout the day though, my eating is pretty healthy. Just not post-dinner.

I have, however, given up alcohol while I’m on Insanity, so for at least 60 days. It’s not really a huge sacrifice for me. Joe and I aren’t big drinkers but there are times I love a good beer. I’ll probably miss it most on Super Bowl Sunday.

Although I’m not seeing the weight loss I’d like, there are a couple of positives I have noticed. My flexibility is slowly increasing. I am not someone who can bend over and touch their toes without bending my knees (sad, I know). My flexibility has always been bad. But Insanity features a lot of stretching, both in the middle and end of workouts. Everyday I’m stretching a little further which is good.

I’ve also been pretty committed so far. No matter how much I don’t want to do it when I get home from work, I make myself, even when Joe isn’t around to workout with me. I think there are a few reasons for this. 1) I’m not allowing myself to make excuses. I basically tell myself to suck it up and do it. 2) I really love checking off the box on that poster. If I don’t exercise, I know that little empty box will be haunting me the rest of the night.  3) I give myself permission to stop if I really need to. This may sound contrary to number one, but it really isn’t. I remember reading an interview with someone once about her workout habits. She said that she always made herself put on her workout clothes and go to the gym. If after five minutes she wanted to stop, then she would stop. I’ve started to think that way and here’s the thing: you don’t stop. Once I’ve started a workout, I’m going to finish it. The battle with working out is really mental. It’s about talking yourself into starting. Then, once you’re there, it’s sort of like “Well, I guess I might as well keep going.”

So bottom line, I’m sticking with the program but not quite seeing the results I want yet. But I realize that’s probably my own fault because of my diet. Once that gets better, I really hope to see some results.

