Darn Those Summer Colds

Right when I thought I was settling into my routine and adjusting to running, I hit a bump in the road.

Last Friday night, Joe and I left for a long weekend in Orlando to visit his family. Although I told myself that I would find time to go to a gym or at least run outside, I never did. There was a small gym at the property but there wasn’t a ton of time to go to it. And running outside in Orlando in August is just downright unpleasant.

I did have one minor victory: I didn’t gain so much as a tenth of a pound while on vacation. Yay!

Sunday afternoon I started to feel a bit of a cold come on. I figured I’d probably just be a little congested and it wouldn’t be that big of a deal. I felt a little worse when we flew home on Monday but not terrible. I figured I’d be on the mend pretty quickly. I meant to work out that night so that I’d keep on schedule but I thought it might be better if I rested up.

When I woke up Tuesday, I felt awful. But since I was only scheduled to work three days this week, I figured I better go in and try to get some things done. I made it until 1 and then went home. My boss told me I looked pretty pale. Wednesday wasn’t much better. I called in sick and did a little work from home. Toward the end of the day, I started to feel a little better.

Finally when I woke up and got going this morning, I felt more like normal. My nose is still stuffed up but at least my body doesn’t ache anymore and I don’t have that general feeling of yuckiness. When I sneezed about five times in a row, my boss said “Gee, that doesn’t really sound like you’re feeling better.” But I swear, I am.

I have no idea where the cold came from (the plane, a crowded house, Dinsey?) but summer colds are always the worst. The worst cold I ever I got when I worked at a summer camp. I swear my sense of smell hasn’t been the same since.

Anyway, what this all boils down to is that it’s pushed me behind in my training. I fully expect the treadmill to suck tonight, especially since I can’t quite breathe right. But I’m determined to keep up my training. And maybe I’ll sweat out the last few snot molecules of this cold. I need to be healthy for camping at Assateague this weekend!

Days to Tough Mudder: 64

